So why another blog

A little while ago, a female friend of mine made a comment on a social media site ” if I had the body of a Victorias Secret model I would frolic around in the nude”. She received over 30 ‘likes’ for her comment. I privately messaged her recommending that nudism isnt for just “model” bodies, but any and everybody shape. She replied that she wished she could go naked and lacked confidence in her body to even try being nude at home alone. This 20ish lady is a super fit, trim girl, most would say stunningly attractive. Why did she felt her body was not good enough?

Back on the social website, I publicly made a comment about the number of women and men (most of whom I new to be Christian, or close to the Christian faith) who agreed with her and wondered if there was an amount of fear or insecurity that prevented all these people trying nudity. I received a few ‘likes’ and some positive comments, however the next day the whole conversation was removed. Why?

This is one of the reasons I’ve started an investigation, a personal project if you like into the fear and insecurity of body image and how nudism/naturism and the Christian faith view our bodies.

So bear with me, feel free to comment (keep it tasteful and appropriate) and hopefully we’ll have some freeing discoveries.

4 thoughts on “So why another blog

  1. Well many christian faiths equate nudity to sex so it has to be sinful. Which makes one ask, how did you and your children get here ?? Another thought is that those who think their body is not fit for nudity, those folks are the perfect candidates for the nude lifestyle. Nothing intills more confidence in those folks as to trying group nudity and discovering that no one is judging and nude we are all equals and we become comfortable in our on skin.

  2. Used to be a Christian, now a non-aligned ordained minister, also gay, long-time nudist. One of the most attractive aspects of nudism, for me, is the non-judgmental attitudes of nudists. I believe that there are those of us who, by nature or nurture, tend to judge ourselves and others, and there are those who do not. Body image is one of the criteria we use to judge, both ourselves and others – another way to say, “I (or you) do (or don’t) measure up to some certain set of standards (no matter how specious those standards).” Some of us get past that need to judge, others never do. The reasons for that are myriad, though worth probing.

    The Christian aspect, I suspect, comes from the Old Testament stories of Adam & Eve feeling shame for having disobeyed God’s tasting of the forbidden fruit, and extending their shame to their uncovered bodies. When God banished them from the Garden of Eden, many readers of this tale associate their banishment with their previous nudity, not with the unrelated disobedience. Couple this with the prohibitions placed on sex for anyone not married to each other, and the tendency to have sex mostly when naked, and we come to the resultant state of linking one forbidden activity, premarital sex, with another (perceived) forbidden activity (although I don’t recall God specifically, nor Jesus, either, later, in the New Testament, saying anything about the pros, or cons, of nudism), and make a fairly small jump in logic to believe that nudity and sex are both linked, and proscribed. When I was a Southern Baptist, there were jokes about Baptists not having sex while standing lest someone think they were dancing (proscribed for Baptists for its own tenuous link to sex). Our species will find any reason it needs to complicate our lives, and linking one enjoyable activity, nudism, with another, sex, especially when we’ve been taught that one, or both, are actually bad for us, has come to seem a natural progression of logic. I’ve long found it interesting that we fairly easily choose which prohibitions we’re going to ignore, while clinging mindlessly to others that serve no higher purpose. But that seems to be an integral part of the human condition.

    My mother was just about as anti-sex as anyone I’ve ever known, but, for whatever reason, not nearly so concerned with nudity. We lived on a farm where our only source of in-house water was a well that often ran very low in the summer; consequently, we often traipsed down to the creek on the farm, as a family to bathe (this was before anyone was thinking of the polluting properties of the soap and shampoo we used). There we all stripped down and bathed together with no embarrassment nor recriminations. So I never learned that I was supposed to be ashamed of my body, nor should I be somehow drawn to seeing others naked. Since it was never mentioned I never built up any neuroses about it. Thank God for that! I don’t know how people who didn’t have that freedom that I had ever easily come to terms with these early-learned aversions. I am thankful that I had already developed a serious love of sex by the time it occurred to my mother to tell me that I wasn’t supposed to like it. If she had gotten to me first I suspect I would have hang-ups to this day.

    So how do we go about changing these ideas? I think it has to start with how we decide to raise our children, what we tell them about sex and nudity, and what we model for them in terms of our behaviors. Kids pay much more attention to what we do than the do to what we say. I just hope we can be good ambassadors for this lifestyle.

  3. Pingback: So why another blog | scotty1111

Leave a Reply

